What to do in Northern Ireland

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Brandon19395
    Participant
    I'm an American student who will be studying in Northern Ireland. What advice do people there have? You know, things I should say, avoid saying, etc...

User Detail :  

Name : Brandon19395, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Baptist, Age : 19, City : Memphis, State : TN Country : United States, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Seamus28221
    Participant
    My mother was born in Northern Ireland and we both visit family there regularly. She grew up in one of the toughest and most violent housing estates (housing projects) in Belfast and much of her family still lives there. Needless to say, the atmosphere is intimidating there and it's best not to visit some places if you don't belong. But otherwise, the people there tend to be full of life and hospitable and the country absolutely beautiful. As long as you don't try and lecture them about religion or politics you'll get along fine. Not that they won't try to lecture you, because they will, but it's best to listen and learn when it comes to the mindset that some of them have grown up with.

User Detail :  

Name : Seamus28221, Gender : M, Age : 23, City : Charlestown, State : MA Country : United States, Occupation : Construction, Social class : Lower class, 

Seamus28227
    Participant