Racial divide at first job

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 55 total)
  • Author

Honey
    I just started work with a company, and although I graduated with honors from high school and college, I was presumed stupid and in need of remedial training by just about everyone in the office. My company also just hired a Caucasian guy. He receives all the attention and training, though our backgrounds are similiar and I may even have an edge on him. I find that my work is very remedial - almost secretarial - and my supervisor treats me as if I'm an idiot. I feel as if I am the butt of office cruelty. My family always taught me if I worked hard and became educated, everything would work out. But they failed to prepare me for this horror. I could leave, but what example would I be setting? Martin Luther King Jr. didn't give up when the going got tough, and neither did all the others who gave up their lives and comfort so I could sit here and complain. I am pursuing a double MBA and I'm wondering if it will pay off. Any comments would be helpful.

User Detail :  

Name : Honey, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Black/African American, Age : 23, City : Chicago, State : IL Country : United States, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Vail
    I'm surprised they didn't prepare you for this?! Being female probably doesn't help and (I'm sorry) if your real name is Honey, that's not doing you any favors either. I know it's unfair, but that is reality. Still, I can't imagine all companies are as bad as that, so I'd say look for something else. Yeah, you could fight it, but that would just harm you. Best of luck. Let us know what you do.

User Detail :  

Name : Vail, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Mutt, Religion : Atheist, Age : 40, City : Philly, State : PA Country : United States, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Lower middle class, 

James W.