Hitting on teenage girls

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

T.M.Romaine
    Participant
    Some of my teenage female students tell me that they are hit on so much by men, all ages, all ethnicities, that they are afraid to go buy gas alone. These aren't skanky girls. I feel that their civil rights are being violated. What gives?

User Detail :  

Name : T.M.Romaine, Gender : Female, Race : White/Caucasian, Age : 48, City : Jacksonville, State : FL Country : United States, Occupation : teacher, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Upper middle class, 

MariamM
    Participant
    I'm a 19 year-old college student, and I'm so sick of men's demeaning catcalls and staring at me like a piece of meat. It makes me wary of all men because it has happened so often. It seems to be a way for them to gain control of us, they see us as naive. It's harassment, but since it happens so often in the public setting, people have resorted to "ignoring" it instead of doing something about it. If this isn't pushing patriarchy forward, I don't know what is.

User Detail :  

Name : MariamM, City : Bay Area, State : CA Country : United States, 

RickB
    Are they being hit on, or are they being harassed? I think there is a difference. Not to mention now a days you can't even tell a woman they look beautiful or any kind of compliment without them feeling like you are attempting to win them over for some other agenda, other than just being a nice person. I know all about harassment. I worked at a bar for over a year where 90% of our private parties were older women and they would harass me and another bartender constantly. I just paid no mind. At times it was flattering, and others it was disturbing... I dont like hearing guys whistle or yell down the street at women they dont know. Its childish and ignorant, now a days though a lot of the younger women seem to enjoy it unfortunately, so im guessing it will push the men it works for to keep