Anxiety Over Sexual Orientation

• This topic has 0 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 19 years ago by Tom.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Tom
    Participant
    I'll try to summarize this as best as possible: I'm 25, and I've been hashing over my sexual orientation for the past 5 years. I just can't seem to quite 'figure it out.' Most of the time, I do feel I worry about it WAY too much, and that there's more of a depression and anxiety circle that perpetuates the confusion and worry, and that if I dealt with that (say, medication and a doctor), the problem itself would go away, and I could see things more clear. Does this make sense? To summarize, I've never been sexually involved with another male since I was like 8 (we've all had our childhood experimentations). But, I guess I really seem to obsess about what it would be like, how do I know I'm heterosexual (or homosexual) if I've not done it, etc. I can never really seem to bring myself to do it, and I wonder 'is it society-related', is that the reason I can't do it? I basically fear actually being gay. Anyway, I seem to obsess about it, like sexual thoughts just pop into my head about guys I work with. There are men I love, deeply, but, doesn't doesn't mean crap I don't think. There are men in my life that if they died, I think I'd cry and feel like I had part of my soul ripped out. I think that's natural and normal. But, I ask myself, 'If the LOVE is there, then maybe you can overcome and sexual taboo'....and therefore find that you're gay. See what I mean? These are logical and plausible scenarios....but, realistic? I guess that's where I need help in figuring out if that is something I should REALLY consider, of if it's my mind going on obessional, worrisome tracks, and therefore I need some legitimate psychological help. I mean, sure, homosexuality is not just about sex, it's about love, too, but, can you be homosexual, but not really be HORNY for the sex part? Maybe the sex part's not there