African American tipping in restuarants

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    I work in a restaurant as a waitress and I have noticed that African American people rarely tip and if they do it is far below 15%. Why is that? Other people I work with noticed the same thing. We don't want to be discriminatory but it is hard when you know that at the end of waiting on a certain table, you won't get a tip. It is hard for wait staff because we make far below minimum wage and rely heavily on tips.

User Detail :  

Name : Carrianne N., Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 23, City : Macomb, State : MI Country : United States, Occupation : Waitress, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Upper middle class, 

Dan
    I have no answer to this, but working as a waiter/manager all over michigan for the last 18 years either I have noticed or have had my workers complain to me that african americans 95% of the time don't tip, or tip very little. When I worked in Detroit I thought it was because many in the city were poor..but this happened in places such as Troy...West Bloomfield...very rich cities. I thought another reason might be because I was a male...but since I have been a manager I have had male/females white/black/etc... all complain about this. Now don't get me wrong ...African Amercians are not the only race that does not tip...ALL of them do that in my experience....but not to the degree of 95% ...or even 30% to be honest. Hope my experiences does not throw me in the 'racist' group of people.

User Detail :  

Name : Dan, Gender : Male, Disability : diabetes and lyme desease, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Christian, Age : 34, City : Auburn Hills, State : MI Country : United States, Occupation : Computers, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Ann
    Participant