Discriminatory discounts?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

K-Anderson
    Participant
    Everywhere we look, we see Senior Citizen discounts, for meals, hotel rooms and even in department stores. Do others, particularly Senior Citizens, view this as being age discrimination? Do you think this practice should be discontinued?
    Originally A35. Click here to see responses in original archives.

User Detail :  

Name : K-Anderson, Age : 42, City : Fergus Falls, State : MN Country : United States, 

J. Baker
    The senior discounts are a discriminatory practice, and I believe they should be discontinued.

If I know a shop gives discounts to seniors, I mention to the employee that I am a full-time student and would like a 10 to 15 percent discount on my purchase. Much of the time, they will give it to me, and if they do not, I will take my business elsewhere.

User Detail :  

Name : J. Baker, Gender : M, Age : 20, City : Brandon, State : NA Country : Canada, Education level : 2 Years of College, 

Joan-F
    Participant
    I agree these discounts should be discontinued. I am 64, but I see families with young children who could use the discount if one were given.

User Detail :  

Name : Joan-F, Gender : F, Age : 64, City : Hoosick Falls, State : NY Country : United States, 

Bob
    I don't feel that seniors should get 'senior' discounts. Although there are a lot of seniors who should get a discount on some items, there are a vast majority that have their home all paid for, their car paid for, social security, a pension check, etc.... Give discounts to those people out there who need it. Taxes are eating us alive.

User Detail :  

Name : Bob, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 27, City : Near Detroit, State : MI Country : United States, Occupation : Mechanic, Education level : Technical School, Social class : Middle class, 

Annette
    Participant