Asian/Canadian culture clash?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Nicole
    Participant
    I am a student at a prestigious Canadian university. I hail from a small, mostly white town. My university has a very high Asian population in comparision to most, likely because we are close to Toronto, which is by far the most diverse city in Canada. My question is this: when I interact with Asian students in day-to-day contact, many are very unfriendly. For example, when I bump into someone in the cafeteria, I apologize with a big smile, and most people smile back. Not so with most Asian students, who tend to give me a dirty look or push right by me. My floor last semester was a very diverse mix, but this term there are 12 Asian girls and 4 white girls. No one speaks to each other anymore, it seems. When I see one of the Asian girls in the bathroom and say hello, I often get no response. Is this a cultural difference between the Canadian and Asian cultures? Many of these girls speak excellent English, leading me to believe they are not recent immigrants. So, if it is a culture difference, I would be interested to hear from people who have immigrated to Canada, and whether they feel it is important to assimilate into their new culture quickly in areas like this.

User Detail :  

Name : Nicole, Gender : F, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 19, City : Waterloo, State : NA Country : Canada, Occupation : University Science Student, 

Cynthia31746
    Participant