Value of education among lower classes?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

Nathan20143
    Participant
    I am a middle-class teacher in a low-to-middle class area and would like to hear your thoughts on why some parents seem to put little value on their childrens' education. Don't they want their children to have every advantage possible in life, and aren't basic reading and math skills advantages for everyone? Or do some people have such issues with the public schools that they 'sabotage' teachers' and schools' efforts just out of spite? I am not talking about responses to bad teachers and hateful administrators; I am talking about general disdain for anything academic. I sincerely want to understand, because it kills me to see this happening to kids before they even know what they could be capable of.

User Detail :  

Name : Nathan20143, Gender : M, Race : Black/African American, Age : 40, City : Seattle, State : WA Country : United States, Occupation : Tech, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Lower middle class, 

A-Urbonas23970
    Participant
    I share your disappointment with some parents and the education of their children. My parents came from Eastern Europe and valued education, and promoted it. Some North Americans have a disrespect for achievement, which can be a distortion of humility. Recognizing that our abilities come from God, we are being good stewards by using what has been given to us, and to use it to the best of our ability. From what I have seen, it is better to have a desire to achieve in a person of average ability than to have a person with great ability having lost their desire to achieve.

User Detail :  

Name : A-Urbonas23970, Religion : Christian, Age : 50, City : Edmonton, Alberta, State : NA Country : Canada, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, 

Cynthia31774
    Participant