The rich talking to the poor

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author

Rebecca G.
    Do people in 'higher society' think about the way they communicate with those on a 'lower level,' or is their attempt at communication the same?

User Detail :  

Name : Rebecca G., Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Baptist, Age : 28, City : Porterville, State : CA Country : United States, Occupation : student/homemaker, Education level : High School Diploma, Social class : Lower middle class, 

Kathy26685
    Participant
    My annual income is over $100,000, and I have a college degree. I hope I never 'talk down' or demean someone who may be of a different socio-economic class than me. As long as someone uses proper English and is respectful, I will address them in the same manner. I do feel that proper English is important and prefer if someone pronounces words correctly, i.e. "library," not "liberry." Otherwise, I'm not sure how I would know someone is of a lower class - unless it is made obvious in a way other than communication.

User Detail :  

Name : Kathy26685, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Age : 51, City : Springfield, State : IL Country : United States, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, 

Shane28071
    Participant
    I highly doubt that people in 'higher society' even think about how they talk to people. They're probably interested in their jobs and what kind of scandals they can get away with due to them being in the 'higher society,' as it's put. I also highly doubt that trying to communicate with people on a 'lower level' would even be a factor. They probably would just give a sigh of annoyance because people they communicate with wouldn't understand simple daily vocabulary.

User Detail :  

Name : Shane28071, Age : 25, City : Sherman Oaks, State : CA Country : United States, 

James D.