Snooty blue-collar folks, and vice versa…

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Sally P.
    It is my observation that each person seems to need to look down on a class different from their own, i.e. a blue-collar person looks down on white collar, and vice versa. Why do people do this? What would motivate this?

User Detail :  

Name : Sally P., Gender : F, Religion : Unitarian, Age : 60, City : Glens Falls, State : NY Country : United States, Education level : 4 Years of College, 

Anne23849
    Participant
    In my own family this is easily seen. I work as a manager. My brother, who has a 4 year college degree, works as a blue collar technical worker. He constantly belittles the 'suits downtown', who in his case are engineers. In his opinion, they know absolutely nothing more than he does, yet are in a position of power over him. In his opinion, they don't respect the trade workers because management seldom asks their opinions when they make decisions, even though they as workers hold many of the answers. I must add, too, that I supervise many blue collar workers and find that even though I get good suggestions from them, I often fight a notion from them that the business should be run without red tape or any sort of bureaucracy. Sadly, I think much of this reverse discrimination comes from an initial suggestion offered which is not acted upon as well as some naive beliefs about the nature of business. As well, I think some of it comes from jealousy. More than once I've had someone say, 'I work for a living, what do you do, really, sitting at that desk?' To that I always say, 'You look like a pretty good judge of things, I guess I don't do anything but pick up my paycheck.' Then I smile and most times that makes the person laugh.

User Detail :