Political Correctness

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

A.C.C.
    Participant
    It may be different depending on the part of the country, but PC people are rare in the South. PC is very overrated as a "menace." There have probably been more articles written denouncing it than there are people who have ever taken the label. Much of the denunciations seem aimed at discrediting their noble goals of ending racism, sexism and hatred of gays. PC is an insignificant molehill compared to the Mt. Everest of various hatreds still in the United States.

User Detail :  

Name : A.C.C., Race : Mexican and American Indian, City : W Lafayette, State : IN Country : United States, Occupation : Grad student, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, 

Rienk K.
    I'm studying in the United States now and have some classes that discuss political correctness in the United States. I was amazed that people feel/think this way. I think it's a little extreme. Why is making a joke too much? Does every American agree with "PC"?

User Detail :  

Name : Rienk K., Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Atheist, Age : 19, City : Apeldoorn, State : NA Country : The Netherlands, Occupation : Student, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Rhiannon
    The term "political correctness" is a slur. The term is a backlash to the multiculturalism movement. Multiculturalism, a movement that received a lot of media coverage around the early 1990s, is a movement that seeks to make power relationships more equitable by disrupting the male, white, Christian, Western, heterosexual, dominant cultural assumptions. In particular, multiculturalists on university campuses have sought to break the traditional academic emphasis on dominant culture and bring in readings and ideas from people who are marginal.