Not all social workers are bleeding hearts!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Linda-C
    Participant
    I am a social worker and want to know what people think of people in the profession. I am a conservative white female. However, because I am a social worker, people tend to think I must be a 'bleeding heart liberal' because I work with people who are less fortunate or have mental health problems. Also, is there a stereotype of women in this profession as being 'dowdy' as compared to women in other professions, for example, in the business field? I am asking because I recently retired and am seeking a career change, and I do not know whether the employers I've sent resumes to are not considering me because of stereotypes about me or because of my qualifications.

User Detail :  

Name : Linda-C, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Christian, Age : 55, City : Ann Arbor, State : MI Country : United States, Occupation : Social worker, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, 

Serene28053
    Participant