Americans more religious than Europeans?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Karim
    Are Americans particularly religious people? I used to think that Americans were mostly secular, but every day I get the impression that in essence they are not (at least not as much as most Europeans and Asians). What role does religion play for Americans today? Does this vary from region to region? How does it affect your view of the world? How does it affect your view of politics?

User Detail :  

Name : Karim, Gender : M, Age : 23, City : Los Angeles, State : CA Country : United States, Social class : Middle class, 

Jessica
    Participant
    Though certainly the United States is a hodgepodge of cultures, Protestant Christianity is the dominant religious movement here. I am an agnostic and believe in the separation of church and state, one thing this country was supposedly founded on. However, I graduated from a public (government-funded) high school and a public university and was asked to bow my head in prayer to God at each graduation ceremony at least once. This is a manifestation of the dominant influence of Protestantism on this country. The only non-Protestant, religious president we have had has been Catholic (John F. Kennedy). We have had several agnostic presidents, but our country fears the powers of religion outside of Protestant Christianity. Personally I have a problem with fundamentalists of any religion - the Jerry Falwells and Osama bin Ladens of the world are all the same to me. I respect other spiritual endeavors, however, and hope that the average American does, too.

User Detail :  

Name : Jessica, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Bisexual, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Agnostic, Age : 23, City : Huntsville, State : TX Country : United States, Occupation : Student, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

JerryS
    Participant