You’re educated, why not get a better job?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author

Natasha20099
    Participant
    Why do some educated people settle for jobs for which they are really over-qualified, specifically people who hold degrees? For instance, I work as an administrative assistant because I don't have a college degree, but there is a guy in the next cubicle who has a master's degree in something or other, and he does the same job as me. I'm not talking about a lawyer who might give up his practice to become a musician or movie star - those are fun dreams to chase. I understand THAT. What I mean is a guy who took his time to earn a B.S. in computer science who goes out and gets a job as, say, a truck driver, hauling goods cross-country in an 18-wheeler. Yes, you have to be hard-working, trained and skillful to drive a big rig for hours, but you don't need a degree.

User Detail :  

Name : Natasha20099, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Afro-Caribbean, Religion : Christian, Age : 29, City : Capitol Heights, State : MD Country : United States, Occupation : administrative assistant, Education level : Technical School, 

Augustine23384
    Participant