The White West and hate groups

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Annie23898
    Participant
    I'm a white student living in an ethnically mixed neighborhood in Pittsburgh (it's mostly black, with some Asian, Indian and white families). Recently I went on vacation in the West - Idaho, Wyoming, Montana, Utah - and was absolutely amazed that the entire population was white. The only non-whites I saw - aside from Native Americans, who are prominent in many areas - were one Asian and one black family, obviously tourists (I stayed for three weeks.) My question: I know most hate groups spring up around the area I was visiting - how do these groups find followers in an area where probably no one even encounters black people or even Jewish people on a regular basis? I know that ignorance is part of the problem - but I'd like to know what other factors might be involved. Is it just political conservatism gone haywire? Why do these people feel so threatened by people who they never even meet? Most confusing to me: Why aren't Native Americans among hate groups' most prominent targets?

User Detail :  

Name : Annie23898, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Age : 25, City : Pittsburgh, State : PA Country : United States, Occupation : Student, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

John K.
    Participant