Proper term for dark-skinned people

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Cheryl B.
    I am an English tutor editing material obviously from the '50s and have run across a passage stating, 'Southern Negroes ... and Northern Negroes...' I found myself increasingly uncomfortable with these (I think) derogatory terms. What should I use in place to signify darker-complected people?

User Detail :  

Name : Cheryl B., Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : not religious, but believe in deity, Age : 45, City : Hilo, State : HI Country : United States, Occupation : tutor/student, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Lower middle class, 

Lucy22448
    Participant
    The term you should use depends on the race or ethnicity of the people to which you are refering. Refering to blacks, I would say blacks or African Americans. Negro isn't necesarily a derogatory term, just outdated.

User Detail :  

Name : Lucy22448, Gender : F, Race : Hispanic/Latino (may be any race), Age : 26, City : San Jose, State : CA Country : United States, Occupation : Engineer, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Leory-Jones
    Participant
    Try describing them as 'blacks with dark-skin pigmentation'.

User Detail :  

Name : Leory-Jones, City : los angeles, State : CA Country : United States, 

gloria
    Perhaps 'people of color' or 'black' would be preferred.

User Detail :  

Name : gloria, Gender : F, Race : Black/African American, Religion : Christian, City : Atlanta, State : GA Country : United States, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

William