Milkin cows 24/7?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Ron-S29630
    Participant
    I was drinking a glass of moo juice a few minutes ago and, out of nowhere, it struck me: does a single solitary cow produce milk 365 days a year, or is it some sort of seasonal thing? I know this sounds like a dumb question, but not really ... look at some of the questions they are asking about sex and crap like that around here. Somebody on a dairy please give me an answer or else I won't be able to sleep.

User Detail :  

Name : Ron-S29630, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Agnostic, Age : 60, City : Stockton, State : CA Country : United States, Education level : High School Diploma, Social class : Middle class, 

Dana27203
    Participant
    I have no cow-related experience, but my significant other's sister owns a dairy farm. Cows only produce milk after they have given birth to a calf (I'm not sure for how long after).

User Detail :  

Name : Dana27203, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Agnostic, Age : 34, City : Pittsburgh, State : PA Country : United States, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Upper middle class, 

Keith26542
    Participant
    Yes, a cow can produce milk every day for years and years. Not only that, but most are milked twice a day. I know of good dairy cows putting out 5 gallons per milking, twice a day. That'll make a lot of mustaches! This is also why some dairy farmers become so attached to some of their cows.

User Detail :  

Name : Keith26542, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Methodist, Age : 40s, City : small town, State : AL Country : United States, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Bash
    Participant