First name/last name

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

John A.
    Participant
    When did Americans begin to call each other by their first names, so that today the military seems to be the one place last names are used exclusively? I know that TV shows from the '50s and early '60s show characters using first names only when speaking to longtime friends. Now when somebody calls me by my last name, it seems jarring in its unexpectedness.

User Detail :  

Name : John A., Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Atheist, Age : 41, City : Boston, State : MA Country : United States, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Lower middle class, 

Augustine23610
    Participant
    Until a few years ago, I never gave it a second thought to call someone near my own age or younger by their first name. Then, two things happened: I moved to South Carolina and I started reflecting on my own age. I also worked in retail where you have a large age range of customers. I found this to be the best policy: address anyone you don't know by courtesy title and last name, unless it is a pre-teenager. Then they will let you know, one way or another, that they prefer to be called by their first name. This way you never commit the solecism of crossing the line and calling someone by their first name when they prefer to be addressed more formally. It's just a matter of respect. Also, when I lived in Washington, D.C. for several years, I noticed that young unmarried people generally went by only their first names, even in the same apartment building or in an office setting. In South Carolina, generally speaking, people introduce themselves by first and last name, which seems normal to me, but in Washington, everything is first-name-only. I literally had neighbors and worked with people who did not remember my last name (it's a simple one) even after I'd introduced myself with my full name! I wonder if this is because man