Do Different Races Get Sick In Different Ways?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Murray C.
    Participant
    To doctors: Assuming all doctors practice on a wide variety of people from different ethnic origins, do you find that certain races get certain/particular illnesses? For example, do you find that white people tend to get the stomach flu more easily than black people? Or, do you find that one particular race has a higher rate of cancer than any other race combined? Also, do you find that any particular race seems to be healthier above all the rest? And what about hypochondriacs? Are there any races that are more likely to 'think' they are sick?

User Detail :  

Name : Murray C., Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Unitarian, Age : 31, City : Halifax, Nova Scotia, State : NA Country : Canada, Occupation : Draftsman, Education level : Technical School, Social class : Middle class, 

Lisa
    I'm not a doctor, but just as an observation I bet that more well-to-do white people are bigger hypochondriacs. I think when people don't have to battle every day for the basic necessities (food, clothing, shelter, security, safety) as well as their civil rights, they have more time to make/focus on other problems. It's a luxury to consider your happiness and well-being all the time. Whether this luxury is necessary or admirable, who's to say? But being white and rich a wimp does make. And I know. I was raised with these people. I am one of them. As comedian George Carlin said: 'Anorexia? White rich girls who don't eat? Ah, let 'em die. I've got bigger problems.'

User Detail :  

Name : Lisa, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Christian, Age : 24, City : los Angeles, State : CA Country : United States, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Upper middle class, 

Lucy22440
    Participant