Degrees of smartness

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

annonymous
    Participant
    Lately, particularly in the circles I socialize in as well as those I attend professionally, it is assumed that I have my degree. Typically, when I mention I have returned to school, the person with whom I am speaking inevitably asks whether I am completing my master's degree. I am both flattered and admittedly a little embarrassed, as I am completing my bachelor's. I have been told that I am articulate, intelligent, obviously a reader and socially aware. Does this response imply that there is an assumption that only formally educated individuals possess these traits?

User Detail :  

Name : annonymous, Gender : F, Race : Black/African American, Age : 34, City : Detroit, State : MI Country : United States, 

John K.
    Participant
    I think your inference is correct. We live in a world of massive ignorance. Most people are only aware of the most obvious scientific, economic, religious, political, etc. information, and most of that comes from questionable sources. We assume that anyone with a good grasp of logic and information has to have learned how to find and process information. Some problem-solving ability usually comes with the package, and those skills are hard to come by without a college education. So in general, we assume that the intelligent and informed would have some kind of a degree. Of course, that is not always true, in either direction. I know plenty of people who never went to college and are extremely well-educated, and others with doctorates who seem to fail to grasp even the most obvious concepts.

User Detail :  

Name : John K., Gender : M, Age : 26, City : Cranford, State : NJ Country : United States, Occupation : Chemical Engineer, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Crystal